Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
      #47010 |

:flag: This was my (our) first year doing the FOT48 and we found out about the event from hike-nh.com (Thanks Chris and Rob!)
      While I work in the defense industry and have many coworkers in Iraq right now, and Jeff is a HUGE supporter and donator to the Red Cross, both of us were driven by my 13 year old son to take action and do something in support of the day. In the end I think each of us did it for our own personal reasons (but I’m sure we’ll all share our stories with our co-workers and school friends).
      We had an incredible feeling of pride all day long and it was well worth it even if we did have to hike out in the dark (had to finish the loop…..couldn’t resist).

We were very lucky that Lincoln became available during the final week as neither Jeff or I had been on this ridge for a few years and my son, Nick, has only done a few peak hikes.
      We did have a couple of problems 😳 , mostly in the way of estimating our ascent time using the Falling Waters trail (the trail was steeper than expected and then there were those darn brook crossings!), so we didn’t hit the summit until just after 12….then it took us a little while to assemble the pole, but we did manage it and kept it flying until after 3:30.
      Jeff brought his looooong distance binoculars and we were able to pick out a number of flags. Unfortunately the Presidentials were obscured and we could only make out flags on some of the Southern peaks.
      We had quite a few hikers thank us….and we directed a few more to this web site to make them aware of the event and to sign up for next year, or to see the pictures from this year. I’ll be posting some as soon as I get them.

Also, we promise not to be strangers and will make it to Mooseland next year. We didn’t know about the post gathering even until it was too late. :beer: