Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
      #47339 |

We plan to take the Avalon Trail up to the Willey Range Trail and back again. We’re a pretty small group at this point, more are welcome!

Z-man

Okay, so I am completely new to the Whites, and was wondering…Where are we meeting up? 😮

Iw ill probably come in on Friday, take a half day from work and then make the drive up. I am not sure how long of a drive it is going to be, but I’d rather get in early while still light out. You know, being in a new place and all..

Chris

We are staying at the KOA Broken Branch Campground, which is on Woodstock NH. You can check it out and get directions by cruising over to their web site:

http://www.brokenbranchcampground.com/

We’ll probably hit the trailhead at about 8:00 AM so we can be sure we’ll hit the summit by noon. If you’ve never really hiked, you should try to get a decent pair of boots and break them in before the hike. You should also be sure to have some non-cotton clothing to hike in, EMS has some excellent options.

Welcome aboard!

Z-man

I’ve hiked a bunch, in the past and run a bunch..so I should be okay. i did just pickup a new pair of Garmont boots and have been wearing them a bunch. Hitting Bear Mountain (CT) this weekend for a hike, and plan on giving the boots a good go…

i also have a bunch of moisturewhick stuff.

Looking forward to the hike :beer:

Chris

Awesome! Do you think you’ll make it to the Broken Branch? Dome and I will have “the condo” (camper) which will be nice.

Z-man

I think so…Trying to work my bosses to get Friday as a 1/2 day… I alos have a new tent on its way so I kind want to give it a whirl..lol I’d rather get there Friday night then leave at like 2 in the morning here to get up there Saturday 😮 That would make for a very long day… lol

Chris