Forums 2016 Flags on the 48 2016 Trips & Routes Passaconaway

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
      #48427 |

Greetings to the crew for Passaconaway. My signup was confirmed at 6:03 PM on 8/8/16, but my name doesn’t show on the list. Please send me an email to keep me in the loop.

What trail will we be taking?

JustJoe

This is another shout-out to the peak coordinator for Passaconaway. I’ve been doing this for several years but was unable to grab my own peak do to lack of service where I was. I have a complete rig and so if you don’t, got you covered. This link shows what I have and can bring. I do plan on bringing my “Never Forget” flag.

http://gallery48.flagsonthe48.org/v/2014FOT48/2014Galehead/

Looking forward to it. I do plan on bringing my “Never Forget” flag.

Steve H

JustJoe, that’s great that you already have a complete rig. You’ve also got an impressive history of past Flags on the 48 events. Let’s hope our honored leader contacts his troops soon so we can plan. I’m hoping that we pursue the peak by Oliverian Brook Trail and Passaconaway Cutoff. That will allow for camping the night before at Passaconaway Campground (also named for the chief).

Wd48

Flags on the 48 – Mount Passaconaway
            Sept 11th, 2016 – Sunrise 6:21 AM, Sunset 7:05 PM
            Meet @ the Oliverian Brook trail head off of the Kanc at 8:15 AM. We will leave for the hike at ~ 8:30 AM and climb the Oliverian Brook trail to the Passaconaway Cut Off to Square Ledge to Walden trails arriving by 11:45AM, raise the flag by noontime and fly it until 2 PM. There is a 0.6 mi. rt and 200 ft.gain for a side trip to the spectacular north outlook. Leave the Mt Passaconaway summit shortly after 2:00 PM, returning via Walden, Square Ledge, Passaconaway Cut Off and Oliverian Brook arriving back to the trail head at approximately 5PM
            10.2 miles RT, 2,800 feet elevation gain and 6:30 hours book time (excludes Flag flying time & north outlook)