Forums 2009 Flags on the 48 2009 Trip Reports Owl’s Head

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
      #47827 |

So sorry I took so long for posting this report. Rest assured though, the American Flag was flying on Owl’s Head from just after noontime until 2PM.

More details to follow

SoloJoe

John’s TR may be a little late, but he was right on time Saturday, Sept. 12, and, I must add, totally prepared.

He’s an exceptional leader.

I awoke in my tent at Hancock CG, a stone’s throw from our meeting point, and rolled into the Lincoln Woods VC lot at 6:50 a.m. John had a van, choice mountain bikes, sundry gear, a 21-foot telescopic pole, and, most important, Old Glory. We waited for fellow participants until 7:30 before setting out, just the two of us, on the LW Trail, riding the initial three miles on two-wheelers. As this is my first year participating in FOT48, I intended to pick a peak that I could include on my NH48. But after hearing that John wanted to bike the opening and closing 3-mile legs, which is verboten viz a viz the official list, I realized his plan would enable me to undertake the journey strictly for the sake of FOT48, a truly impressive collective effort that stands far higher on the importance scale than my solo pursuits.

How did I land such an awesome gig as roadie for Owl’s Head? I e-mailed the FOT48 committee and told them I wanted to help a peak coordinator who, it seemed, would be traveling alone. I chose the longest trip on purpose, and SilentCal hooked me up with John, who, I later learned, had deliberately picked a tough assignment after leading a group up the North Tri Slide last year.

The trip to Owl’s Head and back was a lot of fun, but it was the people who made it great.

We met a couple of old-school hikers along the way, Bud and Steve, who, though they hadn’t signed up, happily assisted. And I got to hear a little about a big trek they made back in 1976 from Baxter to Killington that took a month to complete.