Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 29 total)
  • Author
      #47331 |

My wife and 2 boys will be with me so I’m looking at a fairly early start for this short hike. Due to the number of people coming I thought it might make sense to meet at the Highland Center and hike from there or car-pool to the parking.

This is my first year on “Flags on the 48”, so I am open for suggestions. Also let me know if you have a special flag and rig to bring or if I need to get that going.

Thanks, Chip

:flag:

bobandgeri

Chip – you need to do your won flag/pole thing. Check out the gallery for photos of past years. In 2003 we had a 15 foot pole with a 6×9 flag. It was fairly easy to make use of the summit sign to assist in supporting it with guy ropes tied to rocks/branches. Let us know if you have any questions.

SilentCal

Also check out the Flagpoles and Flags section. Many good ideas there. PVC pipe is the most commonly used pole. Pay attention to the weight of your flag. High winds with a heavy flag may compromise your system. Test it in the backyard.

At least you won’t have to work too hard to get a flag visible from Jackson’s summit.

Good Luck Chip!

chip

I was thinking gram, Peter, John Messinger, Jerry Walleston, RPW, TLW, SDM or KEM, who are also on Jackson might have a rig already. Not a problem if it’s my responsibility, I’ll get on it.

tfr

Chip’s comments about parking lead me to wonder if parking will be an issue from Crawford Notch, since there are a lot of peaks in that area.

???

tfr

Btw, Chip, don’t mess around up there, we’ll be watching!

http://home.hvc.rr.com/trankin/IMG_2892.JPG

๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

SilentCal

I do know the Pierce scouting group is staying at Mizpah Hut on Saturday night. That might make parking not so bad. Then again, if the weather is great, parking lots will fill fast.

TrekMan

@tfr wrote: